Welcome to SixFigureStart®

Career Coaching by Former Fortune 500 Recruiters

Troubleshoot Your Job Search

Next week, I am leading a webinar on Troubleshooting Your Job Search

This has always been one of my favorite and most rewarding workshops because it focuses on getting people unstuck in their job search.  There are only 3 places a job search gets derailed, and when you know which one describes your situation, you are in a much better place to fix it. 

One of the key points I make in the webinar is that wherever you fall in the 3 categories of derailment is NOT a reflection of your quality as a candidate.  You will likely be in all 3 categories at different points in your career — I certainly have been.  Career changers tend to be in bucket 1.  Introspective people tend to be in bucket 2.  The curious and the versatile tend to fall in bucket 3.  There is nothing wrong with changing careers, being introspective or being curious and versatile but your job search strategy and technique has to reflect this.

This brings us to a larger point:  your job search must always reflect who you are and your current circumstances.  It is not a standalone project where you can change your personality and work style to force fit the search into a neat and orderly pattern.  The job search is as dynamic as you are because it reflects how you’re feeling, what you’re thinking, what you want, what you need, and how you and the outside market interact.  The job search is as nuanced as you are.  Paradigms, like the 3 categories of job search problems covered in Troubleshooting Your Job Search, help give a structure to the ever-changing job search.

Filed under: career coaching, Company news, , , ,

3 Responses

  1. AJ says:

    I am stuck with my search. I get a string of interviews. I stop searching because I expect to hear something back but no hire. I have had a lackluster job search so far. My heart is not really into the field I am in now. I need to make a change not sure where to start though.

  2. AJ, you list a number of issues from no response to no follow-up (on your part) to not liking what you do. Each of these is contributing to trouble in your search. The Troubleshooting Your Job Search seminar would be ideal for you. We are repeating the class in September.

  3. AJ says:

    I actually followed up right after I posted this. Everyone said either a hold up in HR or they were on vacation. I guess I am not out of consideration. However, I not THAT interested in any of these jobs. Then, all I know is that I want to do some international work. I am searching around to where I can fit in.

Leave a Reply

Follow us on Twitter

